Enter The Matrix

Posted: December 7, 2013 in matrix
Tags: , , , ,

This was a presentation I gave at the 2013 Clojure Conj, focusing on core.matrix and related libraries.

Some quick thoughts and comments on the experience and feedback I received:

  • There was clearly a lot of interest in array programming at the Conj – I think this was largely driven by the number of people experimenting in data science and machine learning using Clojure.
  • People seemed to really like the approach of separating the API from the implementations via protocols.
  • There was some interest in making core.matrix work with ClojureScript as well as Clojure. This appears to be feasible (though not really my area of expertise)
  • I came away with lots of new ideas and use cases to implement… so watch this space!!

Overall, attending the Conj was a great experience and I really enjoyed the great discussions with fellow Clojurians. Hopefully I’ll be able to make it again next year!

Leave a comment